Posted in life/love

You are so dark and fat and short!!

There was this fat lady(don’t think i am rude, “fat”  is just an adjective) telling people how important it is to be the right weight and she tried a product and has seen a good result till date. She was advertising for some weight loss product for a company. She was saying it as if they are suffering from such a deadly disease and only she can pull them out of it. Same happens with these turning fair from dark skin creams.

Such a good way to make people feel miserable about themselves. Creating a solution for a problem that does not even exist but you make people feel that they are in a big mess.

Yes, now i am being pretty rude and honest.

I will just decribe my appearance in two ways and you are the judge which one sounds good.

Somya is a short and thin girl. She has short hair and all her big teeth are seen when she smiles.

Somya is a slim girl with such a vibrant smile. She has a short haircut, and a cute height.

I have heard both of them for myself and both of them very easily depict how i look but the choice of words makes it sound good or bad.

Now the second senario is how do i react when i hear both of them. As a normal person like you i dislike my first description and feel good about the second one. But why?  Have you ever thought about these words- Fat, Dark, Short, Thin, Hairy and many more words like these that sound rude when you use them for someone. THERE IS NO DICTIONARY THAT SAYS ALL THESE WORDS ARE BAD. They are just words or adjectives that are used to define someone or something so why are we being offended with such words.  If I am tall and fair thats not a big deal I haven’t done anything to be like that so no need to boast about it.  If i am fat and dark yes i am fat and dark. It describes me and should not offend me as i was born this way. This is the way i was supposed to be and this was intended by The Almighty which should be the ultimate thought before feeling bad about your appearance or some disability. There is a reason why you are like what you are.

Stop teaching or acting in front of your kids that anyone if dark or fat or short is not “perfect”. NOBODY IS PERFECT BUT EVERYONE IS BEAUTIFUL is the thing we need to teach our kids and that way we are reducing the bullies that make some kids feel bad about themselves.

Don’t even say it is okay if you are dark. Obviously it is okay because this is you. It is not a disease that you need to sympathize about.

It is the colour of your skin. Everyone has different skin color.

Just a last example to show how stupid it is to judge anyone on looks- you see so many dogs and do you judge them on how long their ears are or how black their nose is or how small or big they are. Do these things define their cuteness? Do you ever say this small dog is not good looking how bad for him. A big dog is also cute and a small one is also cute because this is how they are- Different from each other but all cute.

Next time you hear someone telling you how short or fat or dark you are tell them thank you for noticing and smile. 1

Author:

A Stay-at-home-Mom discovering myself more each day with multiple roles of a mother, wife and daughter-in-law. An art and craft lover, believer of DIYs, an amateur in kitchen, an avid reader and a casual writer. Recently developed the love for blogging and I am loving every bit of it. I am a girl with dreams of travelling the world to appreciate nature and understand different people.I belong to India and want to connect to the world through blogging. I write to express myself as the words on my paper carry the power of my emotions ,feelings and thoughts. Follow this everyday journey of my learnings, fears, challenges, craziness, perception. Would love to know about your experiences too!:)

5 thoughts on “You are so dark and fat and short!!

  1. Beginning of the blog could be a bit more polished and needs to inviting to read. But once you start reading it is of value. And it is a pretty important message that you are giving out. So keep going and good luck with it. One of my nephews once came into the house crying saying someone called him black. (we are from Sri Lanka and yes over there too dark is not that great, and I migrate to Australia and everyone’s queuing up at the tanning saloon, Crazy world). So my dad explained to him, he said ” An elephant is black, and that’s what the Elephant should be, An Elephant is majestic, Regal and Revered with his dark skin, If the Elephant was to be white I don’t think it will look all that great” Just like that you look so beautiful because you are black. You are you and dark skin is part of it” My nephew went back to play happily.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. When you’re not nursing your baby or dancing in the rain, have a peek at my blog too, I have a feeling you might like my take on life and many other things. My first blog was about my journey through cancer. along with all the lives Epiphany. Happy reading and keep writing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

