Posted in #fiction, parenthood/baby

Rain that made me cry

a96cc28b78838e43fe4126a7d2660c36It was a Saturday afternoon, a lazy one to be precise.  Sky full of black clouds that gave me a very obvious hint- it is going to rain today. I am a rain lover since I was a child. Going out to get wet in the first rain with my siblings was like a tradition we kids had followed every year till we all seperated for our studies or jobs.

That day, I made up my mind I will go out and get wet as it will be the first rain of this season and I haven’t followed my self-made pact since five years or so. Kicking away my laziness i finished all my work and was ready to welcome the showers.

My baby was sleeping so I had a little more time in my hand before it started to rain. I wished my husband was at home so I could go along with him to enjoy. Or I could ask him to take care of the baby till I enjoy this little wish of mine. Anyway,  none of this could happen as no one was at home. I decided to make myself a strong ginger tea to compliment the weather mood.

I sat down beside the window with the tea cup in my hands sipping and waiting for the clouds to pour. There is a huge mango tree beside the next building that is visible from my window. I could see a parrot couple eating a mango turn by turn. They come on that tree everyday but that day maybe they knew that it might be the last time they’ll be eating this mango as the monsoon might start and then there’ll be no more mangoes for them. They looked beautiful together. I finished my delicious tea looking at them. Why is the rain taking so long!! I thought to myself.
As I came back from the kitchen after washing my empty cup it started to drizzle. A big smile took over the poker face I carried. I could not help but be excited as a kid I once was- carefree and full of life. A kid who knew no boundaries or restrictions, just knew how to enjoy life. I had to stop thinking and sneak out keeping an eye on the baby.

As i opened the door there started a loud cry! Oh Dear Lord! Didn’t expect that to happen at that moment. I tried making him sleep again with a lot of patience, my eyes fixed at the drizzle turning into beautiful heavy rain, sitting behind that door i coudnt cross. He just wouldn’t sleep but cried at the top of his voice. Mother in me was worried to soothe him as soon as possible but the kid in me was missing on the first rain. My brain asked me to concentrate on my little one and so I obeyed. I closed the curtains and sat down to breastfeed him. This little human was so hungry that he didn’t leave me for the next half an hour. Now it was I who was crying,  tears started rolling down my cheeks. I cried as I could not fulfil such a small wish of mine. I felt a little stupid for crying for such a petty thing. It was my first rain after I became a mother. It was after so long that I wanted to be kiddish. But I guess I am grown up now and these things should not matter, this thought rushed in to stop crying. But I wanted to get drenched in this rain. I wanted to soak in the coolness of the water after all the tiresome days I was spending taking care of my little cutie pie. There was my brain full of positive and negative thoughts.

I wiped my tears and looked down at the baby and there was this tiny face looking at me. That moment I felt it was the most beautiful thing I have witnessed lately. I forgot the previous sad moments for  while and looked at the pretty little face yearning for my love. Something shook inside me.

I picked up my baby, opened the curtains. Covered him with a blanket, caught hold of an umbrella and stepped out to enjoy The First Rain with my lovely friend.
I guess that was the best rain for me as my little one smiled for the first time under that umbrella hugging his mother with closed eyes. That day a memory was etched in my mind for lifetime.
image

Author:

A Stay-at-home-Mom discovering myself more each day with multiple roles of a mother, wife and daughter-in-law. An art and craft lover, believer of DIYs, an amateur in kitchen, an avid reader and a casual writer. Recently developed the love for blogging and I am loving every bit of it. I am a girl with dreams of travelling the world to appreciate nature and understand different people.I belong to India and want to connect to the world through blogging. I write to express myself as the words on my paper carry the power of my emotions ,feelings and thoughts. Follow this everyday journey of my learnings, fears, challenges, craziness, perception. Would love to know about your experiences too!:)

2 thoughts on “Rain that made me cry

Leave a Reply

